Peace Prize – Awards to … since 2005

The first Peace Prize was presented at the 2005 SIE Congress in Vienna, Austria, to

Vera Bohle

for her efforts against the use of landmines and cluster munitions.


The second Peace Prize was awarded in 2007 in Lugano, Switzerland, to

Carla Del Ponte

for her work against crimes against humanity as Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.


The third Peace Prize was awarded in 2009 at the SIE Congress in

Amsterdam, the Netherlands, to

Valdete Idrizi

for her community building work across ethnic lines in Kosovo.


The fourth Peace Prize was awarded in 2011 at the Governors Meeting in Palermo, Italy, to

Sylvia Borren

for her work at the International Women’s Committee, a Peace Committee for Israel and the Palestinian Territories.


The fifth Peace Prize was awarded in 2013 at the SIE Congress in

Berlin, Germany, to Judge

Silvana Arbia

for her work prosecuting perpetrators of genocide at the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR).


The sixth Peace Prize was awarded in 2015 at the SI Convention in Istanbul, Turkey


Dr. Edit Schlaffer

an Austrian social scientist, writer and activist. As the founder of an international advocacy, public relations, and lobbying organization called Women Without Borders Dr. Schlaffer keeps coming up with creative ways to bring women into the security spotlight and to garner worldwide publicity for women who are fighting violence and terrorism.